Willmar Noon Lions

Proud of Our Lions

2016 Award Reciepients

Helen Keller Sight Award

The Melvin Jones Fellowship is named for the founder of Lions Clubs International, Melvin Jones, and was established as Lions Clubs International Foundation’s (LCIF) highest form of recognition to acknowledge an individual’s dedication to humanitarian service. In recognition to thiose receiving this Award the Willmar Noon Lions Club makes a financial donation to the Lions Club International Foundation.  The foundation funds large-scale humanitarian projects around the world.

At the Lions convention in 1925 Helen Keller challenged Lions members to become "knights of the blind." The Helen Keller Sight Award is given to honor Lion members who have stood out in demonstrating the Lions creed of providing service to others. In recognition of the award, the Willmar Noon Lions Club makes a donation to the Minnesota Lions Vision Foundation.  Award winners have their name displayed on a Helen Keller board in the University of Minnesota's Eye Clinic.

In 2018 the Melvin Jones Fellowship was presented to Terry Smith and Donn Winckler.

In May 2017, Andy Engan was presented with the Melvin Jones Fellowship, and Jean Raatz was presented with the Helen Keller Sight Award.  On July 15, 2017 at the Minnesota Millers Beep baseball Exhibition in Willmar Rick Agman was also presented a Helen Keller Award.

At the June 2016 Club Picnic, Lion Rollie Boll was presented the Melvin Jones Fellowship Award.  At the Stingers Game, that same evening, Lion Rolf Peterson was presented the Helen Keller Sight Award.

At the June 11, 2015 Lions Picnic, Lion Cathy Johnson was presented the 2015 Helen Keller Sight Award. 

In 2014, Lion Terry G. Smith was honored with being presented with the Hellen Keller Sight Award.

Four years ago Lion Tim Larson was presented with the Hellen Keller Award.
Five years ago this award was presented to Lion Donn Winckler


At the April 2, 2014 Willmar Noon Lions Club meeting the first annual Club Lion Members of the Year were announced.  Beginning in 2014, and each year hereafter two Lions members will be named Lion Members of the Year.  The first category are for Lions who have served in the club for 5 or more years.  The second category are for members who have served less than 5 years with the club.  In 2017 Caryl Peterson was presented the award for long term member and Alec Saunders was presented the honor for the short term member.  Congratulations to Caryl and Alec on the well deserved award, and thank you for all the assistance you have provided to the club.

A plaque has been purchased by the Club that will show the Lion Members of the Year honorees throughout the years.


website statistics

web design by Dennis Benson